Birkeland Centre for Space Science is organized in three scientific groups. In addition, we have two groups dedicated to designing, building and operating state-of-the art instrumentation, one for space and one for ground-based instrumentation. We also have a group for education and public outreach.



Nikolai Østgaard, Professor and Centre Leader
Karl Magnus Laundal, Researcher
Kjellmar Oksavik, Professor
Hilde Nesse Tyssøy, Researcher
Patrick Espy, Professor
Martino Marisaldi, Associate Professor  


Instrument Groups


Space Instrumentation

Design, building and testing of space-bound instruments


Ground-based Instrumentation

Running and maintainance of research infrastructure on Svalbard



Education and Public Outreach


Education and Public Outreach

The group’s objective is to ensure broad dissemination of BCSS research results.



Centre Board

Nikolai Østgaard, Center leader, BCSS
Anne Marit Blokhus, Vice Dean, Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences, UiB
Elisabeth Müller Lysebo, Faculty Director, Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences, UiB
Øyvind Frette, Head of Department, Department of Physics and Technology, UiB
Erik Wahlström, Head of department (Physics), NTNU
Harald Ellingsen, Managing Director, UNIS
Grete K. Ersland, Board Secretary, Head of Administration, Institute for Physics & Technology, UiB

Katarzyna Kosela-Dordevic, Adm. Coordinator, BCSS


Scientific Advisory Board

Kristi Kauristie, Researcher, Finnish Meteorological Institute, Finland
Herman Opgenoorth, Prof.  Emeritus, Umeå University, Sweden
Steve Cummer, Professor, Duke University, USA


Photo Gallery

Visual Profile